top of page
Wildlife at Periyar National Park

Guide des destinations de Thekkadi

Thekkady est connue pour les collines de Cardamomes du Kerala et le parc national de Periyar, l'une des 26 réserves de tigres de l'Inde. Les collines de cardamome du Kerala ont une altitude allant de 1 300 à 1 500 mètres. La température varie de 25 à 35 degrés en hiver comme en été. Les plantations de cardamome, de café, de poivre et d'autres épices sont courantes ici. Thekkady est connue pour être le plus haut centre de production de cardamome en Inde, qui avait été identifiée auparavant comme une plante sauvage dans la forêt de Periyar. Les Ghats occidentaux du sud-ouest de l'Inde abritent certaines des flores et des faunes les plus exotiques et indigènes, et le parc national de Periyar et sa forêt en abritent la plupart. La forêt s'étend sur 305 kilomètres carrés et possède un barrage-réservoir de 26 kilomètres carrés s'étendant entre les régions forestières. Le parc national constitue un habitat naturel pour le sanglier, le guar indien, le cerf Sambar, les tigres, le dhole, le cerf aboyeur, les loutres et un large éventail d'oiseaux, dont le grand calao indien et de nombreux oiseaux aquatiques.

Oiseaux du réservoir de Thekkady

Quelques faits en bref

  • Thekkady peut également être identifié comme Kumily qui se trouve à seulement 3 kilomètres. Thekkady est connue pour son parc national et Kimily est connue pour être un centre-ville haut de gamme.

  • Les gens ici parlent généralement le malayalam et le malayalam. Tamil. L'anglais est largement compris.

  • Les banques et les guichets automatiques sont disponibles uniquement à Kumily. Bureau de change disponible dans la plupart des hôtels, banques et agences financières.

  • Les transports publics comprennent les bus, les pousse-pousse, les taxis et les jeeps.

  • Thekkady dispose d'une bonne connectivité depuis d'autres destinations comme Madurai, Munnar, Cochin, Kottayam (Kumarakom) et Alleppey (Changanassery).

  • La température moyenne varie de 25 à 35 °C, cependant, certaines régions enregistrent des températures très basses en hiver.

  • Il n’y a pas de bars à Thekkady

  • Il existe quelques parcs d'éléphants qui organisent des promenades et d'autres activités basées sur les éléphants.

  • Les magasins d'épices et les visites de plantations sont assez courants à Thekkady.

Emplacement et comment rejoindre Thekkady

Distance de la ville de Munnar depuis les destinations à proximité

Cochin (Ernakulam) - 160 (4 heures environ)

Munnar - 110 kilomètres

Madurai - 140 kilomètres

Kottayam - 100 kilomètres

Aéroport le plus proche

L'aéroport le plus proche de Thekkady est l'aéroport de Madurai, mais comme la plupart des voyageurs viennent à Thekkady soit de Cochin, soit de Munnar comme circuit touristique qu'ils ont choisi, dans le cas où la plupart des voyageurs atterrissent à l'aéroport international de Cochin. Une meilleure connectivité des vols pour l'aéroport international de Cochin est également un facteur qui en décide.

Gares les plus proches

La gare de Kottayam est la plus proche. Kottayam est la ville des lettres et est le siège du district de Kottayam. La ville la plus connectée de Thekkady est Kottayam et la route Kottayam - Kumily est une route commerciale historique reliant Madurai. Madurai dispose également d'une gare ferroviaire pour se connecter à Thekkady / Kumily, probablement toute personne venant du côté est pourrait utiliser la gare de Madurai pour atteindre Thekkady.

 

Cliquez pourHoraires des chemins de fer indiens et trains entre les garesCliquez pourRéservez des billets de pluie dans les chemins de fer indiens (vous devez vous inscrire sur le site pour réserver des billets)

Gare routière et connectivité bus

Kumily dispose d'une gare routière qui propose des bus courts et longs vers les endroits les plus reculés du haut de gamme de l'État du Kerala. Il existe des bus reliant Kattapana, Munnar, Adimaly, Kottayam (Kumarakom), Changanassery (Alleppey), Cochin et Aluva (ville la plus proche de l'aéroport international de Cochin). Cependant, si vous devez vous rendre à Madurai, vous devrez vous rendre à la frontière de l'État du Kerala, qui est très proche (accessible à pied depuis la gare routière de Kumily). Tous les bus vers Madurai ou d'autres villes du Tamil Nadu,  des bus publics et privés y seraient garés.

bus de transports publics à Thekkady

Transport public

Les bus sont le mode de transport le plus rentable et les réseaux d'itinéraires sont élaborés et vous pouvez littéralement vous rendre dans n'importe quelle ville des gammes élevées en vous connectant via des bus.

 

Les jeeps, les taxis et les pousse-pousse constituent le deuxième mode de transport le plus utilisé. Le Kumily dispose de places de stationnement pour jeep/taxi/pousse-pousse automatique où vous pouvez en louer une. Si vous séjournez quelque part, l'hôtel peut organiser la même chose.

 

Plus que des taxis, les jeeps sont courantes à Kumily. Étant un centre-ville de plantation de campagne haut de gamme, les jeeps ont la capacité de transporter à la fois des personnes et des marchandises. Les taxis sont principalement utilisés pour les longues distances ou vers Munnar/Madurai/Kottayam ou l'aéroport. Les voitures sans chauffeur ne sont pas disponibles à Kumily, les routes sont sinueuses et soyez donc prêt si vous souffrez du mal des transports.

Parc national de Thekkady Periyar

Lieux d'intérêt

Les collines de Cardamome de Thekkady ont beaucoup à offrir aux amateurs d'aventure qui sommeillent en vous. La plupart des programmes et activités expérientielles sont basés sur les épices et le parc national de Periyar.

  1. Contrairement à Munnar, Thekkady est un lieu très axé sur les activités dans les Ghats occidentaux du Kerala. Le parc national de Periyar propose certaines des activités forestières les plus distinctes, telles que la promenade verte, la promenade dans la nature, le rafting en bambou et les sentiers du tigre. Il s'agit d'activités d'une demi-journée et d'une journée complète organisées par le bureau du parc national et le département des forêts du Kerala. La plupart de ces activités au parc national de Periyar peuvent être réservées en ligne.

  2. Navigation de plaisance sur le lac Periyar, dont les activités les plus courantes et les plus fréquentées du parc national peuvent également être réservées et payées en ligne - Billets de navigation au parc national de Periyar. Les différents horaires de navigation sont 7h30, 9h30, 11h15, 13h45 et 15h30. Si vous réservez en ligne, une copie du billet ou sur votre téléphone doit être présentée au bureau du parc, et un billet supplémentaire pour le service de navette en bus doit y être pris. Des navettes de bus vers le point d'atterrissage des bateaux sont disponibles à intervalles périodiques depuis le parking. Cela dit, veillez à réserver les billets très à l'avance en fonction de vos projets de voyage. Pendant la saison, la plupart des billets étaient vendus très à l'avance. Arriver à la dernière minute peut avoir tendance à coûter plus cher.

  3. L'usine à thé du Connemara, située à 15 kilomètres en direction de Kottayam propose des visites d'usine à thé. Non loin de l'usine, en direction de Vallakadavu, se trouve une ferme d'abeilles où vous pourrez apprendre le processus naturel de fabrication du miel.

  4. Les conducteurs de jeep de Kumily organisent des excursions en jeep tout-terrain sur de magnifiques pistes forestières en direction de Vallakadavu et Satram. Ceux-ci sont privés et il y a toutes les chances d'observer la faune au cours du trajet. Il s'agit de programmes d'une journée complète qui commencent le matin et se terminent le soir.

  5. Chellarkovil est un petit hameau situé à 13 kilomètres en direction de Munnar. De là, on peut avoir une belle vue sur la vallée du camp inférieur, Cumbam et Theni du Tamil Nadu. Le centre écotouristique de Chellarkovil possède une tour de guet.

  6. Des visites des plantations d'épices sont organisées dans différents centres de Thekkady et des environs. Il ne s'agit pas seulement de cardamome et de poivre, ces visites visent à vous faire découvrir de nombreuses autres épices intéressantes comme les clous de girofle, la cannelle, le curcuma, le piment et bien plus encore. Il existe de petits centres commerciaux d’épices au sein de ces centres.

  7. Les camps d'éléphants sont de petits endroits où les éléphants domestiques sont stationnés pour des promenades à dos d'éléphants et d'autres activités liées aux éléphants comme le bain, l'alimentation, l'exploitation forestière, etc.

  8. La cardamome de la ferme au marché est un programme exclusif organisé par Green Earth Trails, où vous serez conduit dans une plantation de cardamome, expliquerez la plante et le fruit, ses saisons et sa récolte, puis vous vous dirigerez vers un magasin de cardamome séché 24 heures sur 24. méthode d'une heure et vous emmènera plus tard dans un centre de vente aux enchères de cardamome, où la récolte est vendue aux enchères et transportée vers différents centres commerciaux.

Repas traditionnel du Kerala pour le déjeuner

Alimentation et restaurants

Thekkady ne compte pas beaucoup de restaurants autonomes. Les très rares restaurants autonomes peuvent changer d'une saison à l'autre. Kumily possède quelques restaurants locaux qui servent principalement des cuisines locales, végétariennes, non végétariennes et certaines cuisines de l'Inde du Nord.

 

La plupart des restaurants de Thekkady / Kumily font partie des hôtels. Juste qu'ils ont une porte supplémentaire pour le public. Certains des restaurants connus sont l'Ambady Hotel, le Thekkady Cafe et le Kuttanadu Restaurant. Si vous recherchez de la nourriture du nord de l'Inde, essayez le restaurant Sree Krishna Marwadi Gujarati. Bar-B-Que est un endroit intéressant où ils organisent des démonstrations culinaires avec déjeuner ou dîner.

 

En dehors de cela, il existe un Pizza Max qui sert des pizzas. La meilleure idée est de vous fier à la page TripAdvisor pour la liste des restaurants, soyez prudent car la plupart des restaurants ferment et rouvrent sous des noms différents au fil du temps.
 

Rattage de bambou à periyar - Terre verte

Astuces de voyage

  1. Thekkady est connue pour sa faune, donc si vous prévoyez de rester dans les environs pour profiter des activités du parc national, nous vous suggérons de réserver votre hébergement soit à Kumily, soit à Thekkady.

  2. Pour des expériences décalées, nous vous suggérons de séjourner dans des endroits éloignés du centre-ville, au sein de plantations de cardamome ou de zones forestières.

  3. Thekkady et Kumily sont à seulement 3 kilomètres.

  4. Les véhicules privés ne sont pas autorisés à l'intérieur du parc national de Periyar, tous les véhicules doivent être garés sur les places de parking de Thekkady. Des navettes de bus sont organisées périodiquement par le service forestier.

  5. Vous pouvez trouver des bus fréquents pour Kottayam depuis Kumily.

  6. Les bons restaurants sont limités à Kumily et Thekkady.

  7. Il n'y a pas de bars à Thekkady, cependant, il existe des points de vente d'alcool gérés par l'État à Kumily.

  8. Des centres de massage ayurvédique fonctionnent à Thekkady. Essayez d’éviter les intermédiaires lors de la réservation de créneaux de massage.

  9. Tous les hôtels à Thekkady ne disposent pas de la climatisation dans les chambres.

  10. Il existe des théâtres locaux qui organisent des spectacles de Kalaripayattu et des spectacles de danse Kathakali à Thekkady. Comme celui appelé Mudra sur la route de Kumily à Thekkady.

  11. En revenant du bateau, essayez de regagner les bus un peu plus tôt, sinon vous pourriez devoir rester debout en retournant au parking.

  12. Les pousse-pousse automatiques sont le mode de transport le plus courant. Des jeeps et des taxis sont disponibles dans la ville et dans les centres-villes voisins.

Cardamome verte Dreid

Achats

La première chose qui vient à l'esprit lors du shopping à Thekkady est celle des épices, en particulier de la cardamome et du poivre. On peut trouver de nombreux magasins d'épices qui vendent de la cardamome fraîche de la ferme, principalement des plus grosses de 8 mm.

 

Étant une destination touristique, on peut également trouver de nombreuses boutiques de souvenirs à Thekkady.

bottom of page

Thekkady Destination Guide

Thekkady is known for the Cardamom Hills of Kerala and the Periyar National Park which is one among the 26 tiger reserves in India. The cardamom hills of Kerala have an elevation ranging from 1300 to 1500 meters. The temperature ranges from 25 to 35 degrees considering both winter and summer. Cardamom, coffee, Pepper and other spice plantations are common here. Thekkady is known to be the highest production centers of cardamom in India, which was earlier identified as a wild plant in the forest of Periyar. The Western Ghats of South West India is home to some of the most exotic and indigenous flora and fauna, and Periyar National Park and its forest is home to most of them. The forest is spread over 305 square kilometers and has a dam reservoir of 26 square kilometers sprawling between the forest regions. The National Park forms a natural habitat for Wild Boar, Indian Guar, Sambar deer, Tigers, Dhole, Barking Deer, Otters and a wide range of birds including the Great Indian Hornbill and many aquatic birds.

thekkady.jpg

Some Quick Facts

  • Thekkady can also be identified as Kumily which is just 3 kilometers away. Thekkady is known for the National Park and Kimily is known to be a high range town center.

  • People here generally speak Malayalam & Tamil. English is widely understood.

  • Banks and ATMs are available only at Kumily. Currency exchange in available in most hotels, banks and financial agencies.

  • Public transport includes buses, auto rickshaws, cabs, and Jeeps.

  • Thekkady has good connectivity from other destinations like Madurai, Munnar, Cochin, Kottayam (Kumarakom) and Alleppey (Changanassery).

  • Average temperature ranges from 25 to 35 °C, however, certain areas record a very low temperature during winter.

  • There are no bars in Thekkady

  • There are a few elephant parks, that organize rides, and other elephant based activities.

  • Spice shops and plantation tours are quite common in Thekkady.

Location and how to reach Thekkady

Distance to Munnar town from Nearby destinations

Cochin (Ernakulam) - 160 (4 hours approx.)

Munnar - 110 Kilometers 

Madurai - 140 Kilometers 

Kottayam - 100 Kilometers

Nearest Airport

The nearest Airport to Thekkady the Madurai Airport, however since most travelers come to Thekkady either from Cochin or Munnar as the tourist circuit they have opted, in the case most travelers land at Cochin International Airport. Better flight connectivity for Cochin International Airport is also a factor that decides this. 

Nearest Railway Stations

Kottayam Railway station is the nearest one. Kottayam is the city of letters and is the district headquarters of the Kottayam district. The most connected city for Thekkady is Kottayam and the Kottayam - Kumily road is a historical trade route connecting Madurai. Madurai also has a railway station to connect to Thekkady / Kumily, probably anyone coming from the eastern side could use Madurai railway station to reach Thekkady.

 

Click for Indian railway schedules and trains between stationsClick to Reserve rain tickets in Indian Railways (you need to register on the website to book tickets)

Bus Station and Bus connectivity

Kumily has a bus station that has short and long route buses to most remote places in the high-range within the state of Kerala. There are buses connecting to Kattapana, Munnar, Adimaly, Kottayam (Kumarakom), Changanassery (Alleppey), Cochin and Aluva (nearest town to Cochin International Airport). However, if you need to go to Madurai you will have to go to the Kerala state border, which is very close by (walkable distance from Kumily bus station). All the buses to Madurai or other cities in Tamil Nadu,  both state-run and privately operated buses would be parked there.

public transport buses.jpg

Public Transport

Buses are the most cost-effective mode of transportation and the route networks are elaborate and you can literally go to any town in the high-ranges connecting via buses.

 

Jeeps, cabs, and autorickshaws are the second most commonly used mode of transport. The Kumily has Jeep/ taxi/auto rickshaw parking spaces from where you can hire one. If you are staying somewhere the hotel could arrange for the same. 

 

More than cabs, Jeeps are commonly found in Kumily. Being a high range countryside plantation town center, Jeeps have the capacity to carry both people as well as some cargo. Cabs are mostly used for long distances or to Munnar/ Madurai / Kottayam or the Airport. Self-drive cars are not available in Kumily, the roads are winding ones and so keep yourself prepared if you have motion sickness.

Thekkady Periyar National Park.jpg

Places of Interest

The Cardamom Hills of Thekkady has a lot to offer for adventure lover in you. Most of the programs and experiential activities are based on spices and the Periyar National Park.

  1. Unlike Munnar, Thekkady is very much an activity-oriented place in the Western Ghats of Kerala. The Periyar National Park offers some of the most distinct forest-oriented activities like that of Green Walk, Nature Walk, Bamboo rafting, Tiger Trails. These are half day and full day activities organized by the National Park office and the forest department of Kerala. Most of these activities at the Periyar National Park could be booked online.

  2. Boating at Lake Periyar which the most common and attended activities at the National park could also be booked and paid online - Boating tickets at Periyar National Park. Different timings for boating are 0730, 0930, 1115, 1345 and 1530 hours. If you are booking online, a copy of the ticket or on your phone has to be shown to the park office, and an extra ticket for the bus shuttle service has to be taken there. There are bus shuttles to the boat landing point are available during periodical intervals from the parking area. Having said the above, be cautious to book the tickets very much in advance as per your travel plans. During season most tickets sold out very much in advance. Making it to the last minute can tend to be more expensive.

  3. The Connemara tea factory, located 15 kilometers towards Kottayam offers tea factory visits. Not far from the factory towards the Vallakadavu direction is a honeybee farm where you can learn an experience natural honey making process.

  4. Jeep drivers in Kumily organize off-road Jeep tours to beautiful forest tracks towards Vallakadavu and Satram. These are private, and there is every chance of sighting wildlife during the course of the ride. They are full-day programs that start from morning and end by evening.

  5. Chellarkovil is small hamlet located 13 kilometers towards Munnar direction. From here one could have a beautiful view of the Valley of lower camp, Cumbam, and Theni of Tamil Nadu. The eco-tourism center at Chellarkovil has a watchtower.

  6. Spice Plantation tours are organized at different centers in and around Thekkady. It is not just cardamom and pepper, these tours are oriented to show you around many more interesting spices like cloves, cinnamon, turmeric, chili, and a lot more. There are small spice shopping centers within these centers.

  7. Elephant camps are little places where domesticated elephants are stationed for Elephant rides, and other activities related to Elephants like bathing, feeding, timber logging etc.

  8. Cardamom from farm to market is an exclusive program organized by Green Earth Trails, where you would be taken to a cardamom plantation, explain about the plant and the fruit, its seasons and harvesting and later move to a cardamom store which is dried using a 24 hour method and later take you to a cardamom auction center, where the crop is auctioned and transported to different commercial centers.

kerala food.jpg

Food and Restaurants

Thekkady does not have many stand-alone restaurants. The very few stand-alone restaurants might change from season to season. Kumily has a few local restaurants that serve mostly local cuisines both vegetarian, non-vegetarian and some North Indian cuisines.

 

Most of the restaurants in Thekkady / Kumily are part of hotels. Just that they have an extra door for the public. Some of the known restaurant there are the Ambady Hotel, Thekkady Cafe and Kuttanadu Restaurant. If you are looking for some North Indian food, try out Sree Krishna Marwadi Gujarati Restaurant. Bar-B-Que is one interesting place where they organize cooking demonstrations with lunch or dinner.

 

Apart from these, there is a Pizza Max that serves pizzas. The best idea is to rely on the TripAdvisor page for the restaurant list, be cautious as most of the restaurants close and reopen in different names over the due course of time.
 

Bamboo ratting at periyar - Green earth

Travel Tips

  1. Thekkady is known to for its wildlife, so if you are planning to stay around with the activities of the National Park, we suggest to book your accommodation either in Kumily or Thekkady.

  2. For Offbeat experiences, we suggest staying at places away from the town center, within cardamom plantations or forest locations.

  3. Thekkady and Kumily are just 3 kilometers away.

  4. Private vehicles are not permitted inside the Periyar National Park, all the vehicles have to be parked at the Parking slots at Thekkady. Bus shuttles are organized by the forest department at periodical intervals.

  5. You can find frequent buses to Kottayam from Kumily.

  6. Good restaurants are limited in Kumily and Thekkady.

  7. There are no Bars in Thekkady, however, there are state-run liquor outlets in Kumily.

  8. Ayurveda Massage centers operate in Thekkady. Try to avoid intermediaries while booking massage slots.

  9. Not every hotel might have air conditioning in-room in Thekkady.

  10. There are local theatres that organize Kalaripayattu show and Kathakali dance performances in Thekkady. Like the one called Mudra on route from Kumily to Thekkady.

  11. While returning from boating try to get back to the buses a bit early otherwise you might have to stand while returning to the parking area.

  12. Auto rickshaws are the most common mode of transport. Jeeps and cabs are available in the town and nearby town centers.

spices in kerala.jpg

Shopping

The first thing that comes to anyone's mind about shopping in Thekkady would be that of spices, especially cardamom and Pepper. One could find many spice shops that sell farm fresh cardamom, mostly the bigger 8 mm ones.

 

Being a tourist destination, one could find a lot of souvenirs shops as well in Thekkady.​​